I Would Like a Snow Day, Please

3 Feb

Snow Day

I don’t care how much Obama wants to make fun of us, we need a snow day. I’ve come up with 5 perfectly legitimate reasons for the entire city (except for the place I would walk to) to shut down tomorrow.

# 1: We Are Depressed

Just the thought of a snow day brings joy to my day. I envision snowball fights, sleeping in, hot coco and chili. I can smell the wood burning in the fireplace (even though I don’t have one) and hear the children screaming with joy as they sled down the hills. Those thoughts = not depressing, thoughts of sitting in my windowless cubical typing up reports = depressing. Even if it is just for one day, an out of the blue, no plans kind of day would do nothing but bring cheer to our rosy faces.

# 2: We Are Tired

2009 has already been a big year. After the holidays, things should have winded down, but not for DC. We had an inauguration to plan. Even for those of us who had nothing to do with the inauguration other than attend, the build up was exhausting. News stories bringing both fright and excitement, information coming from every direction, and anticipation of what 2 million people would bring was about all I could handle. Lord knows that when the festivities actually started, we were all pushing ourselves to the limit. Between parties, concerts, speeches and balls, how could anyone expect us to sleep? I know it has been a few weeks since the inauguration, but I still don’t feel rested. A snow day sure would help.

# 3: Delivery Pizza

The economy is in the tank. I have not seen any statistics about pizza in particular, but I know that all restaurants are struggling these days. Wouldn’t it be great for those pizza delivery guys if we could just have a snow day? We all know that pizza is the first thing that comes to mind on a cold, snowy evening, when you don’t want to leave your house. I move to add snow days into Obama’s stimulus package.

# 4: We Need More Community Time

We all hear about the violence plaguing Columbia Heights, nearly every day. I don’t think one snow day would cure all, but it couldn’t hurt. Think about all the community building we could accomplish if we all hit the streets, joking around together. The kids could play, and the adults shovel the sidewalks or have a good laugh. When it snows and we all have to work, the sidewalks stay covered and we all get mad that the people who didn’t clear, but if we had the day free, there would be no excuses.

# 5: My Netflix Are Piling Up

I’m tired of seeing unopened Netflix packages sitting on my TV stand. I want to watch some movies! It seems like workdays are always too busy and weekends too full. Picture a day when you can sit down on your comfy couch, snuggle up in your onesie, kick up your feet and watch a few back to back movies. Throw in the delivery pizza, a nap, and inviting your neighbor over to join, you have a great snow day.

How can you be depressed after that? So God, Obama, or whoever it is that has the authority to shut down DC for a snow day…please take these 5 reason into consideration.

5 Responses to “I Would Like a Snow Day, Please”

  1. God February 4, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    Your request has been denied.
    Thank you for your interest.
    God

  2. V-bear February 4, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    Dear God,

    You suck. I’m switching teams.

  3. God February 4, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    Dear V-Bear,

    I regret to inform you that you have never, in fact, been a member of the team. My apologies for any misunderstanding.

    God

  4. V-bear February 4, 2009 at 12:20 pm #

    Dear God,

    I understand why fewer and fewer people continue to believe in you. Perhaps it’s because you write a book promising us great things and then never come through when needed.

    P.S.
    I want your name off my money by 5pm

  5. God February 4, 2009 at 6:38 pm #

    Dear V-Bear

    Consider yourself smote!

    God

Leave a Reply

