Haydee’s: A Restaurant Review

27 Feb
Located on Mt. Pleasant - Between Kenyon and Irving

Located on Mt. Pleasant - Between Kenyon and Irving

Haydee’s Restaurant is nestled in the funky neighborhood of Mt. Pleasant, where it is surrounded by many other Hispanic eateries…which I can’t wait to sample. Upon walking in a server greeted me with a delightful smile, I think she wanted me. Anyways, when I got to the table I got a good laugh from the Christmas decorations mixed with happy birthday signs, mixed with the under water theme of our section of the restaurant. All these things were further enhanced by the mix of 80’s R&B music and Latin music. A wonderful blend indeed!

The happy hour prices were pretty good, $2.50 for domestic beer and $2.75 for import. There was also the added bonus of having chips and salsa placed on our table…while they weren’t remarkable, they were indeed eaten. After consuming two bowls of chips and salsa, we ordered our dinner. I had the burrito special which was 2 burritos (one chicken, one beef), served with rice and refried beans. I must say the food was pretty good, the meat was seasoned really well and the beans were good also. However, the rice was just okay.

Overall I would say the food is definitely worth eating again, a good place to have tasty food with cheap drinks without venturing from a neighborhood setting.

Flavorfly yours!

Kareem


One Response to “Haydee’s: A Restaurant Review”

  1. GW2L February 27, 2009 at 3:45 pm #

    I love Haydee’s! I agree that the food is not THE BEST FOOD I’VE EVER HAD, but it’s not bad at all, it’s even good. And it’s cheap. And there’s a lot of it.

    I have to really recommend the “Grilled Fajitas” which are excellent and not-greasy. It’s amazing to compare them to the “other” fajitas…. which, like most, are super greasy.

    Overall, a great, cheap, neighborhood spot.

Leave a Reply

