The Quest for the Perfect Pig: Dixie Bones – by Kareem

30 Sep

Fresh from the smoker

Fresh from the smoker

Quest for the Perfect Pig is a series on the HaySayers quest to find the best regional BBQ. Be sure to check out reviews of Rib Pit, RocklandsMr. B’s and Urban BBQ.

After spending what seemed like 4 hrs in a car trying to get down 395, we made it to Woodbridge, VA home of Dixie Bones Bbq. From the moment you pull into the parking lot you can smell the aroma of slowly smoking meat in the air; a scent that will never get old to yours truly!  At the point of arrival, I was using every bit of Christianity I could muster to stay somewhat upbeat and not go crazy from not having eaten anything for the previous 19hrs.  My greatest fear was that the place was going to be crowed and another long wait would happen, but to my surprise, there was available seating even though there was quite a crowd who decided to feast on slow cooked meat on a rainy Saturday afternoon.

After being seated we were handed a simple menu with one side listing food options and the other describing what this place is about.  The one point that stuck with me was the fact that while their sauce was vinegar based this was not NC style bbq…the owners are from Alabama and their food is better (according to the menu that is).  With that being said, I flipped the menu to find some food.  There was all the standard food you would expect from a bbq place so it was a matter of pairing in a way that would bring maximum pleasure to my mouth.  I opted for a BBQ pork plate that came with collard green, macaroni and cheese and a piece of cornbread.  Surprisingly the food came out faster than I could spell Mississippi mudslide forward and backwards.

Dixie BonesMy goodness, this food was very very good, the meat was incredibly moist and you could certainly tell that it was smoked using hickory (my wood of choice). I used their home made sauce on the pork and it certainly went well on the pork. The sauce was of course vinegar based and I can’t complain about it since I was starving at this point.  However, I will say that I am certainly a bigger fan of tomato base sauces.  The greens were really good, reminded me of something my father would make, this was yet another dish that used vinegar to flavor the food. While everyone in my family will put vinegar on their greens, I do not like it much. It isn’t horrible, but I prefer to let the flavor of meat broth do the talking, not some acidic liquid.  This however, was a small thing once I had the pleasure of tasting the mac and cheese, I don’t know what more I can say about it other than it was the best restaurant mac and cheese I’ve had in recent memory, very good.

I can’t help but to think that I will be going to this place again, there were many more things that need trying such as the brisket, sausage, ribs, and catfish…which means I’ll be spending a lot of time in traffic on 395…I’m sure it will be worth it. Dixie Bones is a fine, fine institution of eating.

Flavorfuly Yours,

Kareem

]

Like what you see? Follow the RSS feed here or Twitter here.

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses to “The Quest for the Perfect Pig: Dixie Bones – by Kareem”

  1. Nelson Head October 1, 2009 at 10:10 am #

    Kareem:
    Thank you for the very kind review. I wish I could do something about your trip down 395 and do appreciate your efforts to get here. I hope to meet you on your next visit.
    Nelson H. Head

  2. thehaysay October 1, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    Hello Nelson, thank you very much for writing in. I forgot to mention how pleased Doug was to have some real southern sweet tea. Everything was great, and will make a point to come visit again soon!

Leave a Reply

