Rave Run – Sweating It Out

25 May

5 Mile Route (Click image for interactive ap)

The first signs of a DC summer are here.  High temps and high humidity fill the late evening air, and I for one am glad to see it!  After such a long winter full of cold, icy runs, nothing feels better than returning to the house soaked with sweat.  It wasn’t until this week that I really had my first great hot run of the year.  After a weekend of no running and too much boozing, a swift 5 miles with a lot of leaking (read: sweat), couldn’t have felt better. It is one thing to get home and be tired from a run.  It is another thing to get home, be tired, and FEEL wet.  No question you just had a work out.

I’m not looking forward to 90+ degree training this summer, but I’ll soak up this 75 degree, 70% humidity any day.

So what do you think?


I’ll be post all of my routes on my MapMyRun profile.

Like what you see? Follow the RSS feed here or Twitter here.

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses to “Rave Run – Sweating It Out”

  1. Roommate May 26, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    Great, now the Internet knows where we live.

  2. Roommate May 28, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Don’t you feel that your time and confidence are just so much better in brisk weather, though? I feel like I lose at least a minute/mile in the heat.

  3. thehaysay May 28, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    True, it is harder and often a slower run. But when I get home from a run in the cold, and all I am is out breath, I don’t really feel like I’ve had a good workout. When I get home soaked, overheated, and a little dizzy from dehydration, I feel like I have really worked out.

    Now, yesterday, for example, was blistering hot and humid, and I couldn’t even get myself to put on running shoes, let alone run several miles. There is a fine line between hot and too hot for me.

  4. Roommate July 8, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    Hot enough for ya?

Leave a Reply

