Week 1-2: Hot and Tired

28 Jun

6 Miles: Start and end at 14th and Park, NW

I have to admit, these were not my best two weeks of running.  The past few weeks have been absolutely crazy for me at work, often at the office with 5 plus hours of overtime a day.  It was a big few weeks for me, as months of preparation were coming into action.  Hitting the road for a run after 12 or 13 hours at the office was not exactly what I wanted to do, especially with this weather.

You may recall that I wrote a post a few weeks ago about how much more I liked running in the heat than the cold.  Well, I take every single one of those words back.  I liked running in the heat for a total of 10 days.  All 10 of those days happened to be when the DC heat was below 90.  The past few weeks haven’t seen a day under 90 yet.  Running in 98 degrees with DC humidity has been brutal.  I’ve tried waking up to get in my run early, and waiting until almost dark to get in my run late.  I’ve even tried my damnedest to time out my run with a rain shower, only to have the rain pass by, as if to rub the heat in that much more.

But even with the lack of sleep, intensive heat, and low motivation, I still laced up my Asics and hit the road.  Although they were slow, the miles have now been logged.  I even did two track workouts, which actually turned out to be some of the best days for me.

This week’s long run was only 6 miles, which I happily took, knowing the longer runs were in the near future.  Next week picks up a little bit, but nothing longer than I know I can handle.  Next weekend I head to Rochester with KFB for the 4th, which will hopefully bring lower temperature and exciting new routes!

Weeks 1-3

Leave a Reply

