Gloria’s Pupuseria: A Restaurant Review

15 Jan

This post is written by The Hay Say’s newest addition.  Kareem has joined the team as Chief Restaurant Critic and Special Contributor.  To learn more, check out The Hay Sayers page.

glorias-reviewGloria’s Pupuseria on 14th Street in Columbia Heights is not a place for those who are concerned about the aesthetics of dining out. At first glance you wonder what could possibly be sold at this small little store front restaurant, but the food inside is a more than pleasant surprise.

Upon walking in you can’t help but to notice the intimate nature of the dining area that consists of 5 or so tables covered in floral plastic table cloths.  Upon further inspection you notice the gigantic juke box that when played is entirely too loud for a space as small as Gloria’s.  After sitting down at the floral print table, we (I had other people with me!) were greeted by a very friendly server who I am going to say was a daughter of Gloria (we don’t know who Gloria is but why not make up a story about the employees).  After she greeted us and handed us the menu I couldn’t help to notice the healthy amount of options on the menu which were all priced cheaply and better yet, included taxes!!

I ordered chicken tacos with rice and beans, and a Coke for my meal.  I must say there was overwhelming joy when I discovered they served Coke from Mexico that uses sugar cane instead of high fructose corn syrup.  This delightful beverage was so nice that I ordered it twice. While waiting on my food and downing a Coke I sat back and took notice of the countless pictures of Jesus (this is an El Salvadorian restaurant after all) and the lovely programming on Telemundo!

When my tacos arrived, I got a chuckle from seeing that our food was being served to us on plates that clearly had a past life in a Chinese restaurant. However, that did not take away from the delicious tacos that were plenty stuffed with flavorful chicken and other goodness, and the rice and beans were pretty good as well. I must say this food is definitely worth eating again, and there will be much more to come about this place as I resolve to have everything on the menu at least once!!

I would recommend this place to anyone in the mood for good food at more than reasonable prices!

Flavorfly yours!

Kareem

2 Responses to “Gloria’s Pupuseria: A Restaurant Review”

  1. justin17 January 15, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    I must say…I live less than a block from Gloria’s and have, somehow, never experienced it. Kareem, after reading this review — and, in particular the mention of recycled plates — I can’t wait to give it a go!

    For those who live in the neighborhood and love the Latino atmosphere, might I also recommend Pan Lourdes, a wonderful little cafe and bakery with a distinctive Central American flavor.

    Ciao!

    Justin

  2. Jaclyn January 25, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    I must say… that I completely second Kareem’s opinions on Gloria’s Latina grandma’s basement charm, Chinese grandma plates and grandma-made delicious food. This city is full of painfully average Central American food and this one is truly a gem.

Leave a comment